​​What your child learns: levels 3-6 

In Levels 3 to 6 of the Victorian Curriculum F-10, knowledge and skills in literacy and numeracy are further developed and new content and ideas are introduced to extend learners' understanding of local and national people, events and issues. The curriculum includes learning in English, Mathematics, Science, Arts, Humanities, Health and Physical Education, Languages, Technology. These learning domains enable children to build knowledge and understanding about their world and to develop increasingly sophisticated cognitive and social skills and capabilities.

Learners at these levels:

  • increase literacy and numeracy skills
  • build thinking skills and apply these to the different topics and contexts being explored
  • work cooperatively with others to extend their learning
  • participate in physical activities to develop motor and movement skills
  • express knowledge and understanding in varied ways including written, spoken and visual presentations.


What parents and carers can do

  • talk to your child about the topics, themes and areas currently covered in the classroom and have a conversation about it with them each day
  • share with your child' s teacher your ideas about how your child learns best and any particular areas of interest as this may support your child to become more engaged with their learning
  • speak with your school to learn how they will be covering the curriculum for your child as each school tailors this to meet the needs of your child and their peers.

​It is important to remember that each child is different; some will find parts of their learning program more challenging than others. 

Speak with your child's teacher if you have any questions about what your child is learning and how they are progressing.​

Read the Victorian Curriculum F-10 



Update 11/05/2016
























page updated 19/01/2015​